Hudson fever

How good are comfy pants? Comfy  pants made of stretchy, warm merino? (Answer: so good)

Enter: Hudson Pants…

Hudson Pants - July 2014

I’ve been wearing these a lot. I look forward to getting home so I can put them on. I am not really okay with wearing pants like this out of the house (any elastic waist pants make me feel slightly kid-like) but these are way more stylish and really comfortable. I won’t lie, I’ve been wearing these as pyjamas every single night (a really good thing if, like me, you apparently try and run marathons in your sleep).

Hudson Pants - July 2014

So, the details: I made these in a size 6 to start (for my second and third pair I shaved a wee bit off the waist as they felt a little big) but the sizing seems pretty accurate. The instructions were good – clear and concise, with step by step illustrations, and I think this would be a pretty good project for people starting to sew with knits. The PDF pattern lined up nicely which is actually fairly rare I find (I don’t think paper warpage or not having the correct settings explains a lot of the inaccuracies I see in pdf patterns – and granted, yes maybe this seems like an easily fixed issue to me who has access to all the nice design programs, but still…). I like the fit of the legs – not too baggy (which is the reason I picked these over the Papercut Animas) and I think they look pretty good. As a bonus, they don’t use up much fabric – I got these out of just less than a metre of fabric.

Hudson Pants - July 2014

Your height will make a difference to how they sit – I think they are drafted for someone around 5’5″ and I’m around 5’6″ which means they are more close fitting than if you were shorter. Lovely Lizzie’s post about her version (same fabric, from the same fabric store trip: Hudson twinsies!) gives you an idea of how the fit changes if you are a different height.

So far, you might have noticed I’ve mentioned 3 pairs of pants, but I’ve only shown you two…

Well, this is also a cautionary tale: a tale of ignoring the recommendations and not really thinking things through. May I present to you my third pair of Hudsons, or, the most expensive and ugly pair of pyjamas ever.

Hudson Pants - July 2014

It is amazing how much better they look in photos. ‘They’re… interesting’ is the general theme of the comments I’ve received when wearing them, which I’m not taking as a good sign.

Let’s go through all the reasons these pants were a bad idea:

  1. Making decisions when I had the flu
  2. Making decisions about very expensive fabric when I had the flu
  3. Neglecting to take account of the qualities of said fabric when I had the flu
  4. Ignoring husband’s funny looks while telling him about the decisions I had made while I had the flu
  5. Persisting long past the point where I knew I was Doing The Wrong Thing (while I had the flu)
  6. Getting out of bed while I had the flu

I bought this amazingly soft and lovely (and $$$$) Liberty cotton fleece (yes, I know, and yes it is a real thing) last year with grand intentions: an awesome bomber jacket, or moto jacket or maybe even both. I had done that thing where I had just uncovered it in my stash and wanted to do something with it RIGHT NOW but trying to work out a new pattern wasn’t really appealing when I was feeling so blurghy so I thought: ‘Excellent! More Hudsons! I love Hudsons!’. Which would have been fine if a) I liked wearing floral patterned pants (I don’t) and b) there was any actual stretchiness in the fleece (there isn’t).

Cue epic fail. I had to hack off the ankle cuffs and replace them with black merino because I couldn’t get them over my feet, and the knees will bag out at the slightest provocation. I had to retro-fit black merino detailing on the pockets after the legs were sewn up so the cuffs didn’t look out of place, and I did a really dodgy job of the elastic. Basically I did that thing that I think a lot of sewists do on occasion: persist halfheartedly because ‘maybe they’ll turn out great in the end’.

Nope.

But… all is not lost. They are INSANELY warm and they are on their way to my sister who may possibly appreciate their epic craziness. And I still have enough fabric left (I hope) to make an awesome jacket.

The moral of this story? The Hudson Pants are great. But don’t try and make them when sick. Stick to watching Jane Austen movies and eating junk food instead.

The details:

And: bonus thoughts that have nothing to do with Hudson Pants…

I’m feeling a little weird about blogging at the moment. I do love being part of the blogging community and the people I’ve met through sewing blogs. But the other day I discovered one particular website/forum (I’m guessing a lot of you would know the one I mean, and if you don’t I don’t want to be driving traffic there if I can) which brought home the risk you take when you put yourself out there. I found it really unnerving. One the one hand, I don’t think blogging should be exempt from mockery (very #firstworldproblems), and I certainly think that some blogs can be bad for your mental health in the same way that glamour mags are, and I am very aware that ‘being nice’ is often just a method used to silence people, especially women. But there’s a line where I feel like the boundary between criticism/discussion* blurs to nastiness and a lot of what I read felt that it went to a darker place. I don’t know what the answer is, but it was kinda eye-opening and I don’t know how I feel about it. So: weird.

*I really do think that the current discussion and debate going on in the sewing blogosphere is really important (the whole pattern testing/disclosure issue that has been talked about ad nauseum over the last couple of months – if you’ve had enough feel free to skip this). My 2 cents: I work in marketing, and I see the sort of ‘blog exposure’ that is starting to be sold as a form of advertising there. So I feel like blogging in general is finally having to come to terms with issues about transparency and disclosure – no longer can we think of blogs as having no impact when they are actually used by people to make purchasing decisions. I do feel like openness is going to be really important to maintain blogging’s integrity – and if that means people should be declaring when they’ve received things for free (like patterns to test, or free fabric or whatever), or have a relationship to a business I am 100% behind it. (I also think that if you are running a business then you should be paying your pattern testers, in the same way you pay your accountant because skills should be valued, but that’s a whole other [endless] discussion.)

Okay, I’ll shut up now.

Hudson fever

16 thoughts on “Hudson fever

  1. Yay to being twinsies! In fact I am wearing mine now, with a Plantain hi-lo tee that looks like a Briar! Spooky coincidence 🙂
    Bummer on the liberty ones, they would make nice PJs, but not sure about them as pants, sorry.
    Interesting thoughts at the end there. I am all for the transparency with testing. I am not too worried about ‘putting myself out there’ but I haven’t had any bad experiences…yet

    1. Great minds think alike!

      I think I am going to have to just be okay with putting myself out there and accept the risk. But I found reading some of the stuff there really unnerving, a lot of it felt so cruel. It feels like people forget that there are real people on the other side of their screens…

  2. With this cold winter I’m so jealous of those pants right now!!! I’m sending my mother-in-law to the Sydney Fabric Store next week to see what they have left merino-wise.
    Can’t tell you how great it was to read the last part of your post. I’ve received emails & messages when I had an ‘attack of the trolls’ – the personal viciousness of some forum participants is rather startling.
    While it upset me at first, I realised that everyone makes a choice when they open their mouth or type on the keyboard. You can add or subtract to the world & I choose to add.
    I’ve always been open about testing or receiving goods – and I pass on whatever I can to readers & sewing friends. I’m always (and too often) open & honest. However that’s who I am. If people want to ‘hate on’ me… I think it’s a reflection on them & not so much on me.
    Bravo. Great sewing. Great post.

    1. Good luck with the merino hunt!

      It really is startling isn’t it? Goodness knows I like a little snark but… wow. I felt so gross after reading it. I am glad you are making your corner of the internet a sunshiny place that brings positivity – the world needs more of that.

  3. I think they came out great! They look store bought! Thanks for blogging about this pattern – I hadn’t heard of it before, and I’ve been looking for a decent sweatpants pattern.

  4. Aaahhh so many juicy things here. I’ll start with your Hudsons, which are dreamy and look totally snuggly but like you could wear them out of the house even though this is clearly not going to happen 🙂 Second, I’m so glad you have more of that fleece liberty because it would be incredible in some kind of jacket! And third, not sure what this site is that you’re referring to (the scary one) so I’m happy to stay in my bubble but is it something to do with internet safety or something milder?

    1. I’m happy not not wear them outside – that way they can equal relaxing home time.
      Do you reckon this fabric could work as a Rigel? You are the Rigel queen so I’d trust your advice!
      It isn’t an unsafe website at all, just a site devoted to snarky takedowns.

  5. keds_w says:

    I still can’t decide if they’re the ugliest pair of pants I’ve ever seen. They look weirder on me, but probably because I’m taller. I wore them all weekend.

    (The first two look quite nice.)

  6. OMg these pants are all kinds of fabulousness. And comfort-ness. I really gotta sew me up a pair. And … WHA??? Liberty cotton FLEECE you say? Sure, others may judge – but they must be incredibly cosy and comfy, yes? Please say yes? Because I want to make a pair with that stuff…
    And I know exactly what you’re talking about, because I’ve had a fair bit of traffic from *that* site, too. You know what? Fuq’em. Snarky people like that are always going to exist, and I just find the whole site to be quite repulsive. Seriously, get off your bum and do something inspiring and meaningful with your time, rather than slagging off those who are doing that very thing. Granted, everyone has the right to an opinion – but you also have a responsibility to be a decent human being. Don’t like someone? The internet makes it pretty easy to give yourself a constant feed of only the things you like. Don’t let them stop you from doing what you enjoy, because I’ll always enjoy reading the sewing efforts of peeps like yourself. As do others.

  7. gilliancrafts says:

    Ooh, hello! I just came across you blog – but I feel immediately that we should be friends because a) I am wearing hudson pants right now b) I am just about to go make more and c) the forum is awful and made me question everything I thought I knew about blogging! I’ve learned to ignore it though (even when they suddenly spiked in my stats, meaning they were talking about ME! Ugh. But then I remember that the world is full of lovely people like you and LIzzie and all seems well.
    ps. I blog here: http://craftingarainbow.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

