Finished object, Me-made, Sewing

TIme machined: A Christmas Vogue 1353

Vogue 1353

I’m surprised I haven’t seen many versions of this dress around the internet – to me it seemed the clear cut winner out of that particular Vogue release. When I was hunting around for reviews I could only find 4, and while positive for the most part, they all sounded scary about the fitting adjustments that needed to be made.

Me, being me, decided that the best course of action would be to completely ignore their advice and make it up exactly as drafted, no adjustments. Allow me an evil laugh here, *muahahahahahahahah*, because it totally worked (I know I have just jinxed myself but anyway). Fits like a dream and I love it. This is seriously the most complimented item I have ever made (I wore it to the work Christmas party and on Christmas itself after my intended dress was a complete failure).

Vogue 1353

(I did not iron it for these photos. Because: Brisbane summer. Sorry not sorry.)

The fabric is a nice crisp cotton that seems to be a perfect match for those pleats, and has the added bonus of looking like someone painted a lovely sunset as angrily and violently as possible, which I think gives a very feminine style a bit of edge. It is lined with a cotton/viscose mix – no poly going to happen in the subtropics thankyouverymuch. I used silk organza to reinforce the bodice edges, as recommended by the quite frankly excellent instructions (for once), and it came together way quicker than I thought it would – the pleats in the bodice are the hardest part. This pattern has a lot to recommend it: neckline is neither too high or too low, back scoop is flattering, covers your bra straps easily, pleats are flattering over an overindulged Christmas belly… i could go on. I really do love this dress.

Vogue 1353

And the best bit: perfect for twirling!

Vogue 1353

(Weeeeeeeeeee… I feel sick.)

The details:

  • Dress: Vogue 1353 (Kay Unger design), size 10 no changes (except not handstitching a decorative hem, because ain’t nobody got time for that)
  • Fabric: cotton from Sckafs Fabrics (was half price too, woohoo), lining – cotton/viscose blend from The Fabric Store (I think). Silk organza (used as interfacing) from Sew Squirrel, zipper from a huge lot I ordered from Zipperstop
  • Belt: French Connection
  • Shoes: Seychelles from Anthropologie
  • Messy hair: courtesy not looking in the mirror

Next up, just to balance this epic gushing, I’ll post something I’m more on the fence about.

Standard

6 thoughts on “TIme machined: A Christmas Vogue 1353

  1. Twice in one day… I saw the sales assistant at a fabric shop I was in wearing this pattern too! It’s a winner, that for sure! And paired with that beautiful fabric makes for a perfect festive frock :)

  2. I just finished this dress too, and am plotting the next one. I managed not to find your review the first time around trolling the Internet for reviews, but I enjoyed it thoroughly :) I also followed the directions exactly except for grading a 10 bodice to a 14 skirt, and had great results. Your dress is lovely! Thanks for blogging it :) Cheers from Michigan!

Leave a Reply

